Past events


Thursday 19 November 2020, 14:00-15:00 GMT
REMS "Temperamental Music" - a talk by John Belling, REMS committee member, former REMS Secretary and keen organist


Wednesday 18 November 2020, 16:00-17:30 GMT
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century


Wednesday 18 November 2020, 14:30-16:30 GMT
Exploring Career Pathways in Medical Physics


Tuesday 17 November 2020, 09:15-10:15 GMT
(Business Innovation and Growth summit) The National R&D Roadmap and the Role of Physics


Thursday 12 November
Prestige Lecture 2020 - a talk by Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell DBE FRS FRSE FRAS FInstP


9-10 November 2020
Developments in Physics Teaching and Learning in Higher Education during the last 100 years


Wednesday 4 November 2020, 16:00-17:30 GMT
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century


4 November 2020, 09:00 -15:45 GMT
The Impact of COVID19 on the Environment - Observations and Insights


Wednesday 28 October 2020, 16:00-17:30 BST
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century


28-29 October 2020, 15:00-17:00 BST
NuFor - Nuclear Forensics


Tuesday 27 October 2020, 13:00-14:00 BST
Lead-Cooled Fast Reactor - a talk by Paolo Ferroni, Westinghouse


Wednesday 21 October 2020, 16:00-17:30 BST
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century


Monday 19 October 2020, 13:00-14:00
Compact Spherical Tokamak - a talk by Rob Slade, Director of Technology Development, Tokamak Energy


Thursday 15 October 2020, 19:00-20:00 BST 
REMS "London’s Air Ambulance Service" - a talk by Ali Wade, Volunteer Ambassador for the London Air Ambulance


Wednesday 7 October 2020, 16:00-17:30 BST
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century - a discussion with Susan Liggett


Wednesday 7 October 2020, 12:30 - 13:30 BST
Stable Salt Reactor - a talk by Ian Scott, Moltex


Wednesday 7 October 2020, 10:00 -11:00 BST
Live Q&A for start-ups on innovation, from AI to Jay-Z


Wednesday 30 September 2020, 10:00-17:00
IOP Particle Accelerator and Beams Group Annual Meeting 2020


Wednesday 30 September 2020, 14:00 -15:30 BST
The Road to Recovery - access to finance for physics-based research and innovation 


Monday 28 September 2020, 10:00 - 11:30 BST
The Road to Recovery - access to national facilities


Thursday 24 September 2020
IOP PAG Tutorial Day


Wednesday 23 September 2020, 14:00 -15:00 BST
Quantum Technology – A UK Success Story with Roger McKinlay, Sir Peter Knight and Professor Sheila Rowan


Wednesday 23 September 2020, 16:00-17:30 BST
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century: Framing the Conversation - a discussion with Mike Corcoran


Wednesday 16 September 2020, 09:30-13:30 BST
Two Hundred Years of Electromagnetism


Wednesday 9 September 2020, 12:00-18:00 BST
Current Research in Magnetism


Tuesday 8 September 2020, 16:00-17:00 BST
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century


1-4 September 2020
Photon 2020


1-2 September 2020
Advanced Photonics Techniques in Biology: Cutting Edge, Open Source and AI


Tuesday 25 August 2020, 16:00-17:00 BST
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century: Ethics in Science in the Fourth Industrial Revolution - a discussion with Ryan Murtha


Wednesday 19 August 2020, 10:00-11:00 BST
Artificial Intelligence (AI) and intellectual property: what you need to know - a talk by Parminder Lally, Appleyard Lees


Tuesday 11 August 2020, 16:00-17:00 BST
A New Novum Onganum for the 21st Century - "This house believes… "
Discussion prompted by Reading & Viewing List


Wednesday 5 August 2020, 10:00-11:00 BST
The Rise and Rise of Data Science - a talk by Dr Tamara Clelford, Swamphen Enterprises


Tuesday 28 July 2020, 10:30-11:30 BST 
Statistical Physics, Networks and the Gambler's Ruin Problem - a talk by Dr Nira Chamberlain


Lunchtime IOP webinars 20th – 24th July 2020, 13:00-14:00 BST
Career and skills opportunities for physicists in the nuclear sector


Monday 20 July 2020, 10:00-11:00 BST 
Scattering atoms, electrons and perceptions - a talk by Dr Clara Barker, University of Oxford


15-16 July 2020
IOP PGS Group Conference: Printing for the Future 2020


15-16 July 2020
IOP Business Awards 2020 live webinars


Wednesday 15 July 2020, 10:00-11:00 BST
Making use of molecular chirality for technological applications - a talk by Dr Jess Wade, Imperial College London


13 - 14 July 2020
Magnetism 2020


Friday 10 July, 10:00 BST
Driving business, innovation and growth panel discussion


Thursday 9 July, 12:30 - 16:45 BST
Electrostatics in Healthcare


Thursday 9 July 2020
REMS at Home: 3D Printing


6-8 July 2020
EMAG 2020 - Microscopy Enabled by Direct Electron Detection


Wednesday 24 June 2020, 10:00-11:00 BST
The hunt for dark matter at the Large Hadron Collider - A talk by Dr Sarah Williams, Murray Edwards College, Cambridge


Thursday 18 June 2020, 14:00-15:00
Cook, the Transit of Venus, Aftermath and Legacy - a talk by Stewart Coulter

Now more than ever it’s important that we reflect not only on the great achievements of scientists of the past but also face up to the reality of their flaws and actions. It is fair to recognise Captain Cook’s important scientific achievements and also the fact that good and bad resulted from his journeys and discoveries.


Thursday 18 June 2020, 13:00-14:00
Breeder Blanket Design in Fusion Reactors: Innovations and Challenges - Speakers from IDOM 


Wednesday 17 June 2020, 10:00-11:00 BST
Improving upon the “super” in super-resolution microscopy - A talk by Dr Izzy Jayasinghe, The University of Sheffield


Tuesday 9 June 2020, 10:00-11:00 BST
Intellectual property (IP) in a post COVID-19 environment - A talk by Parminder Lally, Appleyard Lees


Wednesday 3 June 2020, 09:30-10:30 BST
We’re in a pandemic: who's got time for an equality action plan? - A talk by Professor Nicola Wilkin, University of Birmingham


Tuesday 2 June 2020 13:00-14:00 BST
Micropower from Gamma Fields - a talk by Robbie Mackenzie, University of Bristol 


Wednesday 27 May, 10:00-11:00 BST
Quantum Sensors, from fundamental science to technology - a talk by Professor Kai Bongs, University of Birmingham


Tuesday 26 May 2020, 13:00-14:00 BST
Diamond Batteries - a talk by Tom Wallace-Smith, University of Bristol


Wednesday 20 May 2020, 19:30-20:30 BST
Listening to Einstein’s Universe: the Dawn of Gravitational-Wave Astrophysics - a talk by Professor Martin Hendry, University of Glasgow


Tuesday 19 May 2020, 13:00-14:00 BST
Space Batteries - a talk by Tim Tinsley, National Nuclear Laboratory



Contacts

If you have any questions, or to register interest your interest in the programme, email events@iop.org


Events

To see our full schedule of events, visit events.iop.org and search using IOPGroupEvents


Join us

Become an IOP member today; find out more at membership.iop.org or by emailing membership@iop.org.